Complaint against the CBE Group’s vicious and predatory tactics

October 7, 2007

CBE is a debt collection agency that uses this number: 319 274 1910. CBE VIOLATES the FAIR DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES ACT by persisting to telephone us AFTER WE TOLD THEM NEVER TO CALL AGAIN.

They were repeated told NEVER to call, yet continued to do so in the most vicious, predatory, and sneaky way.

WE MUST PUT AN END TO THIS TYPE OF PREDATORY BEHAVIOR.

Shame on Thomas R. Penaluna, the CEO. Read his comments as he lobbies Congress about how ‘proud’ he is.

Mr. Penaluna, you may be ‘proud’, but your company has wreaked havic on an innocent family as your filthy, sneaky employees attempted to collect a debt.

It’s not us – EVERYONE IS COMPLAINING ABOUT THESE TACTICS.

The House Ways and Means Commit-
tee conducted a hearing on May 23 to
review the Internal Revenue Service’s
private debt collection program

During the rambling 10-minute call, a representa-
tive the CBE Group, a private debt col-
lector out of Waterloo, Iowa, refused to
give the taxpayer any information about
whom the CBE Group was, or what the
call was in reference to, other than that
it was a “business matter.” The repre-
sentative of CBE repeatedly asked the
taxpayer for digits of his social security
number, even resorting to asking for
“the middle two digits.” The taxpayer,
rightfully concerned about identity theft
and the evasiveness of the information
being provided by the CBE representa-
tive, eventually gave up trying to figure
out what the phone call was about and
hung up the phone.
More here:

Here’s another group of American Citizens who WHO ARE SICK AND TIRED OF CBE GROUP’S TACTICS:
“This company is vicious in their auto calling practices. They call day and night, weekdays and weekends and don’t usually leave a messaeg. The one message I did get was intentionally cut off in the beginning to make you wonder and call back. I have reported them to the national do not call list. They should be prosecuted!”
More info:

THIS IS USA TODAY’S NEWSPAPER:
“I have been getting harassing phone calls from your company by people who refuse to leave their last names,” the man said to an employee of The CBE Group, one of the IRS contractors. “It is incredibly annoying and frightening.”
More info:

CBE VIOLATES the FAIR DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES ACT by persisting to telephone us AFTER WE TOLD THEM NEVER TO CALL AGAIN. We are currently seeking both a private and class-action attorney to SUE CBE and Thomas Penaluna, the CEO. If he approved of this action, his private estate will be mine.

If you are an attorney, please email us at: LawsuitAgainstCBE@yahoo.com.

We are seeking only lawyers who are qualified to practice in the Federal District Courts, have experience at the Federal level, have experience holding press conferences, understand the media, and who have graduated from a top 20 Law School.

WE ARE GOING AFTER CBE AND WE WILL EMERGE VICTORIOUSLY. WE ARE PREPARED FOR 10 YEARS OF DEPOSITIONS AND WE WILL NOT TAKE ANY ‘EASY SETTLEMENT’ OFFER.

WE ARE DOING THIS NOT FOR MONEY. WE ARE DOING THIS TO STOP THiS ANIMALS FROM HARASSING THE GOOD PEOPLE OF THIS WORLD. WE WILL FIGHT THEM AND PUT AN END TO THESE FILTHY TACTICS USED BY CBE.

Listen to what Congressman Bruce Braley says about CBE:

“Simply put, if this bill is passed into law, it will cost [CBE] jobs,” Braley said. “My first job in Congress is to fight for the people of Iowa. Putting Iowa jobs first means I am opposing this bill, despite the support of many Democrats.”

LET’S VOTE THIS GUY OUT OF OFFICE. HE WANTS TO PROTECT CBE! ARE YOU KIDDING? WHAT AN IDIOT.

More complaints against CBE:

Lobbying by CBE in DC:

7 Responses to “Complaint against the CBE Group’s vicious and predatory tactics”

  1. Karen Stanford said

    I just checked my Transunion credit report and found a hard inquiry by the CBE Group dated 2/1/08. After some cross checking, I realized that this is the source of the hang up calls I have been getting which are originating from the same number you are referencing, 319-274-1910. Since I have never received any written correspondence from this company regarding sort of debt they are trying to collect, doesn’t this violate the FDCPA?

  2. Mark said

    I remember when I told the CBE guy never to call again, I started getting phone calls at ALL HOURS from someone who would hang up.

    I KNOW IT WAS HIM.

    People who get into debt-collection are a weird breed of people.

    Can you imagine telling your children, “When you grow up I want you to become a debt collector.”

    Only the strangest, obsessive types work for debt collection agencies. They’re loners, losers, and not very attractive. So they take out their ‘vengeance’ against the innocent people who just want to live their lives.

    The people at CBE are pathetic humans and they make life hard on others.

  3. Terry said

    CBE has been continually calling me for the past year looking for my daughter (she is a struggling single mother–age 21–that was taken advantage of by an ex-con at the age of 18–running up many hundreds of dollars of debt). I give them her number (which is also listed in the phonebook), but they keep calling ME back as if there were something that they’re going to get from ME. My daughter is paying as much as she can, and Mr. Ex-Con is nowhwere to be found. I’ve told them to quit calling ME, but they continue to call, hinting that if SOMEONE doesn’t take care of this debt, that they could get my daughter fired from our jobs because we don’t pay ‘our bills’. I’VE NEVER gone into collections on ANYTHING. I’ve never missed a payment on anything in my life (age 50)! I hate to have to hire a lawyer to put an end to this harrassment, but I’ll have no choice. Unfortunately, most of their victims can’t afford legal help, and don’t know their rights as far as this nasty organization goes.

  4. Leenie said

    Very intersting. AS for about 2 months I have been getting these calls at all hours of the day and night also. I have NEVER gotten anything in the mail regarding ANY debt that I owe either. I have never answered the phone due to caller ID and nobody have ever left me a message. I thought that after the first intial phone call was made for a collection call they had 5 days to follow up via mail otherwise they are in violation. I dont know what they want nor do I care. I am glad that I thought about checking them out on the web. Next step for me, I better check my credit report.

  5. Aaron said

    I also just found a hard inquiry from CBE Group dated 4.29.2008. I found out January 2008 from looking at my credit bureau that CBE was reporting a collection account. I immediately sent them a verification of debt letter certified mail. They responded with information that was clearly not verification of debt. I then sent another letter right back demanding they remove it from my credit bureau or send proper validation. I didn’t receive a response and thought it was over with, and they did remove it from my credit. What do I do now? I haven’t ever been contacted by them except for when they responded to my letter. Are they allowed to pull my credit report after I disputed a debt they never verified?

  6. Naria Bord said

    I just recieved a call from them. They said I refused to make payment. I said clearly I would pay but cannot since I was laid off. They told me “what kind of man cant find a job?”. Wow. that is very unethical.

  7. Scott West said

    On behalf of DirecTv, I am hereby authorized to send each and every account that has outstanding balances to CBE for collections. This is my job. Pay your bills on time and in full, and we would not have to do this. Being poor/broke is not an excuss, you ordered the service, you pay the bill.

    Scott West
    DirecTv
    Albany, OR
    1-541-926-4635 Field Office
    1-360-885-9669 Regional Office
    1-541-936-1908 Office
    1-800-531-5000 Customer Service

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

